Contemporary ritual

The second assignment is so broad that I could really photograph just about anything. If I were at home I would be photographing fencing tournaments, but I am not at home. I find sports ritual (the act of getting ready to compete, not the competition itself) to be fascinating. Since I can’t photograph this I will instead be photographing a personal ritual of my own. I have two main ideas. I either want to do a series about female rituals that men do not participate in, such as putting on makeup, trying on clothes, or something to do with menstrual cycles (but I think I will spare the class). My other idea is to photograph the walks me and my friends take almost every night. We go out walking for hours at a time exploring the city, and over the past few weeks this has become a nightly ritual. The series would most likely be shot at night, and would probably contain photos of parks and streets and the people we meet at night on occasion. I would like to present my photos in a box, and if that doesn’t work out then in a handmade book.

The following photographers are ones that I found particilarly interesting.

=

Wolfgang Tillmans

Rinko Kawauchi

Nan Goldin

Laura Letinsky



Leave a comment